These are the features that make Rafale fighter jets special for India.

indian rafale jet
Indian Rafale Jet


The first of the 26 Rafale fighter jets will be formally handed over to India’s Defense Minister Rajnath Singh on 8 October 2019.

The Rafale fighter jet will be the most advanced fighter aircraft in the Air Force fleet. Compared to the SU30 MKI – currently the best aircraft in the IAF – the Rafale jet is faster, has a wider range and greater capabilities.

More importantly, at any point at least 75% of the Rafale fleet will have to be prepared to compete. 

Rafale fighter jet is a twin-engine, canard-delta wing, multirole fighter aircraft. It is designed and manufactured by a French company called Dussault Aviation.

Dassault’s ni Omnirole ‘aircraft comes with a host of weapons and according to the company can perform a wide range of tasks such as aerial reconnaissance, ground support, depth strike, anti-ship strike, and nuclear detention.

Here is all you need to know about Rafael Fighter Jets:

  1. It is a twin-engined fighter aircraft
    The Rafale fighter jet is powered by two SNECMA M88-2 engines. Each engine provides a thrust of 75kN.
  2. Rafale fighter jets can help each other in mid-air
    Rafael Fighter is equipped with jet buddy Buddy-Boy ‘refueling which is an aircraft to lend its fuel to another even while in flight.
  3. It can fire METEOR missiles to meet targets beyond the widget range
    METEOR – a beyond visual range air-to-air missile – can eject enemy aircraft at a range of more than 100 kilometers.
  4. SCALP missiles can carry on-ground targets 300 kilometers away
    The Rafale can be equipped with SCALP missiles, a long-range ground attack missile capable of penetrating targets within a radius of 300 km.
  5. And, carrying six AASM missiles at a time
    It can hit targets accurately with an accuracy of 10 meters.
  6. It has holographic cockpit display
    The cockpit of the files jet is equipped with a display of Thales Avionic. The head-up, wide-angle holographic display manages aircraft control data, mission data, and firing signals.
    Its multi-image display at head-level displays tactical position and sensor data from around the aircraft. Two lateral displays on either side show the aircraft’s system and mission data. The pilot has scenes wearing a helmet and appears separate from the main console.
  7. Rafael can shoot eight targets at once
    Onboard is also an RBE2 passive electronically scanned radar developed by Thales. It has ‘look-down’ and ‘shoot-down’ capabilities that can track a maximum of eight targets at the same time, identify threats and prioritize accordingly.
    Rafael’s radar is more powerful which is PESA radar of Su-30 MKI.
  8. Raphael’s high survival
    Rafael’s electronic warfare system, Spectra, is also a contribution of Thales. It is equipped with solid-state transmitter technology, DAL laser warning receiver, missile warning, detection system, and jammer.
    The ability to combine the most effective defensive measures for spectra based on different combinations of their characteristics gives Rafael a greater chance of survival in hostile airspace than the SU-30 MKI.
  9. Rafael is being adapted for Indian Air Force
    The Rafale fighter jet ordered by India is being adapted for the Indian Air Force. They will have the ability to quickly land and take off from high altitude areas such as airbases in Leh.
    IAF Rafales will receive a radar warning to identify hostile tracking systems as well as a token decoy system to ward off any incoming missile attacks.

Source: Business Insider

Leave a Reply